The Honour Cross of the World War 1914/1918 (Das Ehrenkreuz des Weltkriegs 1914/1918), commonly, but incorrectly, known as the Hindenburg Cross.

To commemorate the distinguished deeds of the German people during WWI, the Reichspräsident, Generalfeldmarschall Paul von Hindenburg, established through the order of 13th July 1934, the "Honour Cross for Participants in the World War 1914/1918" and for the Next-Of-Kin. This was Germany's first official service medal for soldiers of Imperial Germany who participated in World War I. It was also the first decoration created by the Third Reich.


The Honour Cross was awarded in three forms


For combatants ((Frontkämpferkreuz) - number awarded = 6,202,883

For non-combatants (Ehrenkreuz für Kriegsteilnehmer) - number awarded = 1,120,449

For widows (Ehrenkreuz für Witwen) - number awarded = 345,132

For parents (Ehrenkreuz für Eltern) - number awarded = 372,950

Total 8,041,414  


For combatants (Frontkämpferkreuz)


Honour Crocc - Combatants


Award document for combatant

Award document for combatant


Parade bar showing the cross for combatants




For non-combatants (Ehrenkreuz für Kriegsteilnehmer)


Honour Cross - non-combatants


Award document for non-combatant

Award document for non-combatant


non-combatant cross in wear



For Next of Kin (Ehrenkreuz für Witwen/Ehrenkreuz für Eltern)


Award for the Next of Kin

Award document for Next of Kin

Award documents for next of Kin: left - Widows. right - Parents



Parade bar

Luftwaffe parade bar showing the The Honour Cross of the World War 1914/1918 with corresponding ribbon bar




Lapel Pins

Lapel pins for civilian attire




Lapel buttonhole for civilian attire

Lapel buttonhole group for civilian attire with combatant Honour Cross mini




Return to Home Page Return to Index Page